21 day challenges…

March 11, 2009

They say it takes 21 days to develop a habit. If this is so, the opposite should hold true as well. It should take 21 days to break a habit. Believing this, I have started a 21 day challenge I prescribed for myself in order to establish a healthier, happier life. I want to rid myself of unhealthy added sugars. This will be a hard feat to achieve because I am a sugar-addict. I love all things sugary….Hot tamales, gummy bears, jelly beans, Brach’s Valentine’s hearts, Good and Plenty’s, chocolate…you name it… I love it!

Well…yesterday was day one. I did well…no sugar! Today will be the tell-tale, it always is the second or third day I find the hardest. I hope to find others who can hold me accountable for this challenge. The challenge will end The first of April. I hope to re-set my tastes and perhaps eliminate the need for sugar in my diet. It’s just so unhealthy.

Because I am giving something up, I also must add something to make up for the loss. I will feed my body what it really needs, more vegetables, fruit, protein and WATER! I am terrible about consuming the water I need. I love coffee and start each day with about 3 cups of Starbuck’s Sumatra or Seattle’s Best French roast. Then, throughout the day I drink decaf herbal teas…a variety. But, I do not consume much water. Does anyone else have this problem?

Even after I work out, I find it difficult to drink water. This is something I plan to overcome! I watched The Real Housewives of New York this morning… I had it recorded from last night. It’s amazing how often Bethenny Frankel is seen toting a bottle of water and drinking it. Water is essential for me, and I plan to drink more!

Off to finish my third cup of coffee and get ready for work! Come on day 2!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

